Agaming Maangogwan
Loon Feather on the Shore

Lodge History

In December of 2011, the lodges in the state of Michigan were commissioned by the National Lodge of the Order of the Arrow to create four new lodges from the existing nine to match the newly created Field Service Councils. During this teleconference, the lodge key-threes of the state were told their implementation date would be NOAC (National Order of the Arrow Conference) 2012.

From January through September of 2012, the Lodge Creation / Formation Team met to determine lodge:

  1. Name, totem, number;
  2. Structure;
  3. Finances;
  4. Events and calendar;
  5. Rules, and
  6. Chapter formation.

The team also met to plan the joint effort for the national conference's Founders' Day Booth and the October 5 - 7 Fall Fellowship. The members of the Lodge Creation / Formation team included youths: Matthew Allen, Brandon Baumgart, Ian Boden, Nick Crosser, Caleb Gordon, Rich Momber, Mitch Pierpont, Zack Preuss, Kevin Schoenknecht, Jacob Straub, Craig Symborski, David Ware, Andre Wassenberg, and Michael Wright. The adult members were: Mike Chaffee, Bev Chapman, Jason Kerske, Ken Kueffner, John O'Brien, Tom Oleniacz, Tom Stoppa, Rick Todd, and Rob Wassenberg. The supreme chief of the fire was Paul Schwartz.

The legacy chiefs form the four legacy lodges were: Matthew Allen, Chickagami; Rich Momber and Zach Preuss, Gabe-Shi-Win-Gi-Ji-Kens; Kevin Schoenknecht, Mischigonong; and David Ware, Cuwe.

Agaming Maangogwan Lodge #804 became official on August 4, 2012, at the conclusion of the National Order of the Arrow Conference at Michigan State University. On Thursday evening of the National Conference, representatives from the Region presented the five legacy lodge chiefs with their new charter. At Friday's Founders' Day Festival, members from all four legacy lodges joined in their first activity and provided a "loon tossing" booth at the event. Afterwards the first lodge picture was taken and members sat together at the closing show.

On October 5 - 7, the lodge's first event, a Fall Fellowship, was held at Camp Holaka near Lapeer. Lodge trainings detailing the new lodge structure, rules, identity, and chapter formation were provided. The first lodge officers were elected.

Agaming Maangogwan Lodge 804 was created in the new Water and Woods Field Service Council of the new Michigan Cross Roads Council. The lodge is comprised of four legacy lodges - Chickagami (Port Huron), Cuwe (Flint), Gabe-Shi-Win-Gi-Ji-Kens (Lansing), and Mischigonong (Auburn). During the last 97 years, other legacy lodges also existed in these areas. Even prior to the adoption of the OA as a national BSA program, there were other camp honor societies in the field service council area.

The Order of the Arrow was founded in 1915 at Treasure Island Scout Camp, Philadelphia (PA) Council, by its Camp Director, E. Urner Goodman and Assistant Camp Director Carroll A. Edson. It was created as an honor camper society to recognize those scouts who best exemplified the living of the precepts of the Scout Oath and Law while at summer camp. Several other honor camper societies sprang up at other scout camps, and these quickly spread from camp to camp around the country.

In the first year, Agaming Maangogwan lodge experienced the following successes:

In the second year (2014), Agaming Maangogwan lodge experienced the following successes:

During the 3rd year of Agaming Maangogwan's history (2015), the lodge celebrated the Order's Centennial. In doing so, the lodge:

The lodge has elected / selected four youths to serve as chief. They are:

  1. David Ware 2012 - 2013
  2. Kevin Schoenknecht 2013
  3. Nathan Snow 2013 - 2014 & 2014 - 2015
  4. David Clegg 2015 - 2016

Arrowmen from Agaming Maangogwan serve as section officers, too. These include:

  1. Mitch Pierpont - Section Secretary: 2012 - 2013
  2. Mitch Pierpont - Section Vice Chief: 2013 - 2014, 2014 - 2015
  3. Sean Greania - Section Secretary: 2014 - 2015, 2015 - 2016

To date, one has been elected section chief:

  1. David Ware - 2012 - 2013

The Council Scout Executive has appointed the following as Lodge Adviser and Associate Adviser:

The lodge calls-out members for the Vigil Honor at the Winter Fellowship and Banquet.

The lodge presents the Founder's Award at the banquet, too. This national award is given on a lodge level to those who have given outstanding service and demonstrates the ideals of the Order as described by our founder. They include:

  1. Gerry DeBusschere - 2013
  2. Richard Momber - 2013
  3. Craig Symborski - 2013
  4. David Ware - 2014
  5. Nick Crosser - 2014
  6. Mitch Pierpont - 2015
  7. Jonathon Archenbeau - 2015
  8. Joel Holland - 2016
  9. Claude Tanner -2016

The lodge will donate $1,000.00 to the Water and Woods Field Service Council endowment fund to recognize recipients of the James E. West Award. To date, they are:

  1. Bev Chapman - 2013
  2. Jerry Deeg - 2013
  3. Kevin Schoenknecht - 2013
  4. Scott Thomas - 2013
  5. Elijah Dangler - 2014
  6. David Clegg - 2014
  7. Barry Jensen - 2014
  8. Kirk Sheren - 2014
  9. Josh Jagelio - 2015
  10. Rick Todd - 2015
  11. Tom Stoppa - 2015
  12. Joel Holland - 2016
  13. Zack Smith - 2016
  14. Claude Tanner - 2016
  15. David Patterson - 2016